Battle Sails: 3/5 STARS

HopliteGames, sponsored by Armor Games, serves up another satisfying time-waster, called Battle Sails: Caribbean Heroes.  The swashbuckling music is catchy, if a little low quality, and the visuals are pretty great.    The game mechanics are familiar and should be smooth sailing for most players.  There are three difficulty levels: easy, medium, and hard.  I beat the game on medium with little effort. Some people will find that by the end of their play-through, the battles become tedious.

This game is like a low-budget version of Civilization V.  There are turn based battles, fights for other nations’ land, and even the ability to research technologies! Now it may sound like I’m being harsh, but really, the game isn’t bad.  I enjoyed it; Battle Sails is the perfect way to avoid doing other things(like working on your blog!) and devour a Saturday afternoon.  For what it is, it’s a great value(it’s free, by the way).  However, it’s still just a puzzle game.  Call me a dirty Hipster, but I like my games to mean something.  Sure, I like to mindlessly beat puzzles as much as the next guy, but I just wish there was a story or moral or something special.  

It’s a strong effort on HopliteGames’ part, but I want to see a little sparkle-sparkle. For example, a quick history lesson to set the scene of the game, or introducing more random factors and some story-telling. Overall, I give it three stars out of five.

Play Battle Sails: Caribbean Heroes

2 comments

  1. jessicabridgeworth · October 21, 2015

    I like your review style, Green Muse. Very authentic :). Would love to feature your reviews in our weekly curated email digest that goes out to thousands of people.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Green Muse · October 22, 2015

      I’m blushing… I would love to write a weekly review for your email digest.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

