Death, Rockstars, and the Bad Case of Insomnia

I’m an insomniac–I admit it. But you know it’s bad when you’re awake at 2:30am and you check the news after tossing and turning, only to find out that David Bowie is dead. David Bowie is dead.

There was a world before Bowie, and a world with Bowie. I’d never thought about a world after Bowie. Even though he’s stopped breathing, I believe it will be a long time before the world really is post-Bowie.

On a semi-related note, I wanted to just say that personally, I have worry that when my idols die, nobody will care. That is, no newspapers will run front-page in memoriam stories. How would I find out? Would my family/friends know, and we’d talk about it together? Or would I have to explain to them who my hero was? What would I tell them? ¬†Would I talk about the songs they’ve written, their children and husbands/wives, maybe recount their falling out with badmates, dare mention their problems with drugs?

Just a little food for thought. What would you say in remembrance of a rockstar/idol? Is there a musician that you think will die without being celebrated? Talk about them in the comments, what you’d say about their life, etc.–even if they’re still alive!

Leave a Reply

